President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday approved the immediate disintegration of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) into seven independent operational units.

According to the Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Ibe Kachikwu, who disclosed the new development, he said the new units are Upstream, Downstream, Gas & Power, Refineries, Ventures, Corporate Planning & Services and Finance and Accounts.

He said each of the units would be headed by chief executive officers, namely:
Bello Rabiu for Upstream
Henry Ikem-Onih (downstream)
Anibor Kragha (Refineries)
Saudu Mohammed (Gas & Power) Babatunde Adeniran (Ventures)
Isiaka Abdulrasaq Finance & Accounting and
Isa Inuwa ‎Executive Head, Corporate Planning and Services.

All appointments are to take effect immediately.